Last night while pulling down the covers of the girls beds, I couldn't help but notice how unbelievably messey Anna's room was. Not that I haven't noticed it every other time I went in her room but it seems after all the holidays and birthdays, it has gotten worse and last night was the last straw. I told her that today after homework, she will start cleaning it. She reluctantly agreed but I know better than to think that once that homework is done today, the, "I don't want to do it now, I promise I'll do it later" excuses will be flying out of her mouth! Yeah, not buyin it! So today comes around and I have this crazy urge just to do it myself because if I clean it, I can throw out a bunch of papers and junk that she would most certainly save and stuff somewhere. The old, out of sight out of mind trick. I know a lot of you are thinking to yourself, "Why the heck is she doing that, it should be Anna's responsibility" and you are a little bit right, however, not all the way right. Sometimes if you want it done a certain way and you know it's not going to be, you just gotta do it yourself.
So...I cleaned it and got a garbage bag full of junk that is now in the trash. Oh what a great feeling that is to me! All is right in the world when the house is clean! Don't worry, she doesn't get off that easy. Little does she know that I left her closet just for her to clean and it's a walk-in so it'll take her awhile.
Funny, while I was cleaning her room I started thinking what comes around, goes around...when I was younger, my room was a complete disaster most of the time and I would give my mom the hardest time about cleaning it also. Now that I'm a mom I totally understand the frustration my mom had about this same thing.
Cleaning to me is one of those things that I don't like to do but can't stand when things are not done so as my husband says to me, "You run a tight ship!" I would have to say he's right, I do. I can't leave dishes in the sink dirty overnight no matter what time it is. It will bug me all night. Toys get picked up and put away where they go, every evening. All beds made each morning. Yeesh, typing all this stuff makes me sound like a drill sargent. Trust me, I'm not. Wouldn't you agree that when all those things are done, you feel better? Well I do. Call me weird, it's ok. If I would let everything go, I can only imagine what this house would look like with 3 kids. There have been times when I would treat myself to a professional house cleaning and this place would be spotless and I mean spotless. How long do you think it lasted? Yeah about a day if that.
Well, Anna baby is home...time to spring it on her what I did for her. Until tomorrow...
No comments:
Post a Comment